Enhancing Beauty

Lake Tahoe in September, when the heat of summer wanes and before the snow falls. What makes it so breathtaking?

The lake is the main attraction, with more than 70 miles of shoreline. Beauty is not only found in the deep blue, though. Trees add greenery and strong wood trunks contrast with the ripply water.

Also decorating the lake are large chunks of granite.

The lake would not be as lovely without the surrounding trees. The rocks are more imposing because they sit amid fragile pine needles. Sometimes trees grow right out of the rock.

In concert, the green, the granite, the deep azure are more stunning than any one of these would be alone. It’s the whole package, and it’s tied with a ribbon called the Truckee River.

People are more beautiful in context with others, too. Who brings out the loveliness in you? Do you have people who are different from you and because of that, make you shine? Who decorates your life?

Linking up with Sweet Shot Tuesday

Sweet Shot Day

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Loving People, Places, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Enhancing Beauty

  1. Nics says:

    Sharon – wow, these photographs are simply breathtaking. They show the marvels and wonders of nature. I would love to visit Lake Tahoe someday – in fact how about this, I plan to visit someday. Your photos are inspiring, I will carry their colours all day, thank you for sharing them. I am going to try to answer your questions –

    Who brings out the loveliness in you? – I am not sure if it is one specific person, but rather my hope and desire, that I response with grace, and love to all situations – or as much as I can
    Do you have people who are different from you and because of that, make you shine? – yes – being friends with people who are different is one of the greatest joys of my life
    Who decorates your life? – God

    Happy Tuesday,
    Nics

    • sharonodegaard1 says:

      I love your thoughtful responses, Nics! Someday, you must visit Lake Tahoe. You would be astounded by the beauty. Put it on your bucket list!

  2. Susan says:

    Oh my, looks like post card pictures!! I would love to visit.

    Hope your day is blessed♥

  3. Missy says:

    Oh Nature… Always so beautiful! I love the deep blues and the contrast with the green trees, gorgeous. I love landscape photography, it will always be my first true love. 🙂 Beautiful.

  4. Cedar says:

    These are lovely photos! It looks gorgeous there! I love your imagery of us each being more beautiful in context with those who bring out the best in us.

  5. meg says:

    Mom! Your pictures of Lake Tahoe are GORGEOUS!! I want to go!!

  6. Niki says:

    I found you through your SCL link. Your photos are incredible…such beautiful places!! I was drawn to your re-marriage story. My In Laws remarried each other, then later had my husband…so I am particularly grateful for their re-marriage. 🙂 Thanks for all the inspirational messages in your posts!!

    • sharonodegaard1 says:

      Thanks, Niki! My husband and I have been remarried for about a year now and it’s been a wonderful season for us! We are wholly depending on God’s grace to go forward in our revived romance. Thanks for sharing your family’s story! . . . Sharon

Leave a Reply

