A Promise in the Bends and Twists

In the thick of the forest . . .

forest

. . . have you ever noticed that some trees grow bent?

bent tree

Some trees lean, looking like they may topple to the ground.

Leaning trees

Young trees fail to reach directly skywards.

young tree

Established trees display a decades-old curvature of the spine.

old tree

Some start out well but something happens and they turn.

turn

Others grow up reaching for the sun without wavering to the north or south, east or
west. The trunk is solid. This, we think, is the ideal. This is a true tree.

true straight tree

Our lives are like these trees. We take different paths — curves, distinct bends,
maybe just leaning a bit from true up.

This season I’ve been rehearsing for a concert of Messiah, one of the most
creative musical works our culture has given us. One song quotes Isaiah
40: “Every valley shall be exalted, and every mountain and hill made low, the crooked straight, and the rough places plain.”

These trees on display in the forest on a fine fall afternoon made me think of that song. One day all the crookedness of our lives will be made true and pure; the rough will be smoothed out. It’s hard to see that today. We need faith to imagine such a time. When I look at my own bent, curved “trunk,” I hang onto this faith. I believe.

How about you? Do you believe God can redeem the bends and twists of our lives?

tall tree

Linking up with Sweet Shot Tuesdays and Texture Tuesdays. Texture used is “And Then Some,” provided by Kim Klassen of Texture Tuesday.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Grace, Hope, Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Promise in the Bends and Twists

  1. Sandy says:

    what a beautiful story! Love the trees, all of them!

  2. Yvette says:

    Lovely to find you here in blog land…great tree photo’s today for TT. Have a wonderful day, Yvette@twistedvines

  3. Yes, God can do anything, if we allow Him, and obey His word. I love shooting trees as well!
    http://www.samsnoggin.com/2011/11/sweet-words.html

  4. That was a very insightful write. Thank you for that tad bit of knowledge to start my day with.

  5. Jill says:

    Oh, I do believe that He can!

  6. Ocean Soul says:

    Such a good object lesson and nice photos to go with it too!

  7. Courtney says:

    beautiful trees, they remind me a bit of Seattle and make me wish I was back!

  8. Pat says:

    Love the perspective of those last two shots. Magnificent tree!

  9. Very cool post! I have always found the twisty turny trees interesting. Great pics!

  10. Joanie says:

    Oh my, what a beautiful analogy about life. I love your insight. I appreciate your experiences in the forest with the Messiah playing in your head! I love that! One of my favorites is “The Trumpet Shall Sound”. It’s been years since I’ve been a Messiah choir… I miss that.

    And what do I believe? I bear strong testimony that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ all wrong can be righted, all sins forgiven, all wounds healed if we will but turn to Him and keep His commandments.

  11. Barb says:

    Wonderful photography!

  12. Susan says:

    Oh how true!! Great illustration… So good to know he can make that change in our lives!!

    Blessings to you♥

Leave a Reply

