When Ducklings Need a Bit of Help

In the children’s award-winning book, Make Way for Ducklings, author Robert McCloskey tells a story of a family of ducklings and their mother living in downtown Boston. The mother duck decides to cross a street, unaware of the danger of speeding vehicles. As she leads her little ones into danger, a kind cop runs to the rescue.

He stops traffic so the vulnerable ducklings can cross in safety.

A delightful bronze recreation of the story delights children and adults alike in a Boston park. Here you’ll see the mother and her brood marching along, enjoying their stroll.

Something’s missing, though — the policeman. The story of the ducklings would be untold without the kindness of their protector, but still today they march, blissfully unaware of their need for the gentleman who watched out for them.

This New Year is a good time to take a look back and consider who helped us this last year in our daily march through life. I would include on my list my former colleagues who recommended me for the new job I’m enjoying; my friend who invited me to sing in a choir and rediscover the joy of music in community; and my friend who sent me her piano students when she moved away. I’m so grateful for so many who look out for me, providing experiences I didn’t even know I craved. This year, I’d like to remember the high-stepping ducklings and be on the lookout for those who watch out for me. A word of thanks would be welcome, I’m sure.

How about you? Were there times this last year when someone stepped in, blew a whistle, and helped you face something scary? Who’s believed in you enough to let others know? Has someone given you a recommendation that paved the way for a rich new experience?

Linking up with Sweet Shot Tuesdays and Texture Tuesdays. Photos from Boston have one layer of Kim Klassen’s Crackerjack in Color Burn.

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Gratitude, Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When Ducklings Need a Bit of Help

  1. Wonderful! I remember that story so vividly….although as a child in NE Oregon, I was blissfully unaware of the Boston connection. 😉 These sculptures are precious, and I appreciate your use of them to apply to today’s living.

  2. These are really nice! Sweet post.

  3. I love Make Way for Ducklings! (So glad I followed your link from Sweet Shot Tuesday….) My boys are teens; we’ve read it hundreds of times since they were little.

    I have many, many benevolent “policemen” in my life and am thankful for each.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Suzanne says:

    How gorgeous, I love the cartoon images and the photo’s just lovely!

  5. ginger says:

    love those ducks..here is my take as i was reading it…. take it or leave it, not a problem either way =0) i’m one of those ducks and the rest could be my family/children…. the “unseen protector” is REALLY there, i just can’t see him as i/we walk this life some of my kids or even myself or hubby may get into danger, but Jesus will protect me/them. i’m not called to walk life alone, i’m walking out Jesus’ story. he is right beside me every step of the way. he is right there side by side…..

  6. Gina says:

    Awwww- that is so cute.

  7. Nics says:

    Brilliant, just love this, and that story. Happy New Year.

  8. I love that story since I was a child–it must be over 50 years ago! I live in Boston now and have seen those ducklings often. Your photos are amazing!

Leave a Reply

